Poetry by Leslie…

 

poetry-pic

 

Is There a Balm in Gilead?

Lord, as I kneel to pray

I have something I want to ask you today

In your infinite wisdom; I am asking you why

Why do so many people have to die?

Is there a Balm in Gilead?

Heavenly Father to me this illness is a mystery

This virus called Human Immunodeficiency

It affects people all over the world

Inflicting men, women, babies, boys and girls

Is there a Balm in Gilead?

Lord, isn’t it time we educate one another

For it’s killing many of our people of color

I read it’s spread by sexual contact, breastfeeding, needle sharing,

or an infected pregnant woman can even pass it to the baby she’s carrying

Is there a Balm in Gilead?

Heavenly Father, please grant us the faith, strength and insight that we need

To help us fight the Acquired Immunodeficiency Disease

This obtained syndrome is making so many people so sad…

Only YOU know, Lord… Is there a balm in Gilead?

My child,  I AM the BALM

For I soothe, save, heal and calm

© 2005  Leslie Hamlett

Please enjoy this beautiful hymn by Mahalia Jackson:

There is a Balm in Gilead by Mahalia Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

