Better Than Before

Woman of Shunem Restoration

And when the king asked the woman, she told him. So the king appointed a certain officer for her, saying, “Restore all that was hers, all the proceeds of the field from the day she left the land until now.” II Kings 8:6 (NKJV)

Elisha and the Shunammite Woman – Part IV – Restoration

I just uploaded the fourth lesson from my study on Elisha and the Woman of Shunem. Please visit my “Lessons I’m Learning Page.”  Are you seeking restoration? I would love to hear how God is working in your life.

2 thoughts on “Better Than Before

  1. johale9242

    Great insight Dorothea. It seems like I’ve been praying for restoration in so many areas of my life lately. My finances, my marriage, my friendships, my family relationships, but ultimately if we don’t have HOPE we struggle to move forward. We lose sight of what is possible and we forget ALL is possible for those who believe. I find that my “HOPE” is best described like a candle. The wick is fully lit and the flame burning brightly allowing us to clearly see (not with our eyes, but with our faith) what lies ahead, but when difficulties enter in and our hope begins to fade the flame grows dim. The “winds” of our trials cause the light to flicker. Smoke rises and the road ahead becomes difficult to see and our “sight” (trust) withers and we grow weary. Smoldering, the flame of hope is dying and darkness is closing in. At this moment when we’re at our lowest and most desperate for a life breathing “restoration” of LIGHT in our lives the Creator of all things provides the necessary oxygen (Holy Spirit) to fan the fire once again and our HOPE is renewed.

    The story of the Shunammite Woman from beginning to end has a treasure of spiritual insights. Thank you so much for sharing these valuable lessons. I’m grateful for everything I’ve learned from your devotionals. Keep writing and bringing light and HOPE into this world.

    Reply
    1. dorothealove Post author

      Dear Jo,
      Thank you for such a beautiful illustration! Some days it DOES feel like our faith is about to be consumed, but praise God for the power of the Holy Spirit to give us the strength to keep going. Thanks for sharing your insights. May God watch over you and bless you!

      Dorothea

      Reply

Leave a Reply

