Looking Back

Looking Back

“I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember Your miracles of long ago. I will meditate on all Your works and consider all Your mighty deeds.” (Psalm 77:11-12 NIV)

Recently, I’ve been looking back in order to move forward. Maybe this sounds a little weird, but it’s true. It’s something I do when I’m faced with a new challenge, a new project, or when I want to set new goals. Regardless of the reason that causes me to reflect on my life, I always end up thanking God for His presence. I’m amazed and humbled at the many ways God continues to touch my life – the protection, the favor, the provision, the guidance.

When I consider areas that need physical healing, I can trust in God’s goodness because He has already been faithful through multiple surgeries, several hospital stays, countless tests, and seemingly endless doctors’ appointments. If anxiety causes me to toss and turn at night, all I have to do is remember the previous times when I gave all of my worries to God and He gave me His peace (Philippians 4:6; I Peter 5:7). Then, there are those relationships that challenge me to be loving and kind when I want to be mean and hateful (Mark 11:25-26; Luke 6:31). As I think of His mercy and grace towards me, I am soundly chastised. Times of uncertainty and doubt always end in a place of faith and confidence in His goodness.

What I’m truly grateful for each time I look back is realizing that God has been a constant friend God to me – encouraging my heart and strengthening me when I didn’t know how I could go on. He’s been a tireless confidant – able to bear every concern that I’ve brought to Him. His love for me remains steadfast and true. I understand why the psalmist refers to our Heavenly Father as a fortress, strong tower, and dwelling place, because He is those things and so much more! (Psalm 18:2, Psalm 90:1)

I believe these are just a few of the reasons why it is important for me to remember – to look back and see the hand of God on my life. As I look back, I find the courage and hope that I need to face an uncertain tomorrow.

I am reminded that God will not change (Hebrews 13:8).  My faith deepens and my confidence in God is strengthened. Just as He was faithful to me then, I know I can depend on Him to be faithful today, tomorrow, or even next week.

So no matter what we have to face today, let’s take a moment to deliberately scrutinize our lives. To look honestly at every area and see opportunities for improvement. To celebrate our successes. To cultivate a desire to touch the lives of others. To remember all the instances (great and small) when God stepped in and gave us the strength, energy, and wisdom to endure.

Then, let’s remind ourselves of God’s unchanging nature. He’s waiting for us to trust Him today, just like we have trusted Him in the past.

Prayer:  Father, help us to remember Your goodness to us. Help us to truly understand that You don’t change. Give us a renewed desire to trust You in this present situation, just like we have trusted You before.

4 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

