Why Am I So Afraid?

IMG_0361

“He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” (Mark 4:39-40 NIV)

There have been plenty of times that I identified with the fear and panic gripping the disciples in this passage. I remember one specific moment when I thought the anxiety would totally overwhelm me. New symptoms had been attacking my body. The pain and tremors by themselves were frightening. But I also had to deal with discomfort in my eyes, which required three days of resting with a cold compress on them. My normal routine dramatically changed. I couldn’t read, watch television, or use the computer.

Whenever my mind strayed away from God’s Word, I felt the panic rising up inside of me. I realized that I had allowed fear to enter my heart. Constantly, I wondered, “What if?”

Thankfully, the pain finally subsided. As I waited for the test results, I found myself thankful that I could read again.

One morning while I was reading my devotions, I read this story and felt that Christ’s rebuke was specifically directed to me. Why had I succumbed to fear and doubt? Where was my faith?

Christ’s words caused me to stop and reflect on Him. That’s when I realized that my focus had been on the things going on in my life. As I prayed for courage, I remembered His promise of peace (John 14:27). Even though I faced unknown difficulties, I knew that I could keep my peace because Jesus had already overcome this world and its troubles (John 16:33).

Today, although I face new challenges with my health, I know to release all of my anxieties to God and to seek His strength. Once again, Philippians 4:6-7 becomes a reality for me as I feel God’s peace flooding my soul.

Are you facing your own difficult circumstance? I pray that you will be encouraged to stir up your faith; seek God’s peace; and allow Him to shoulder your burdens. He will help you get through your present challenge.

Prayer: Lord, thank You for Your peace and comfort. Help us to remember that Your yoke is easy and Your burden is light (Matthew 11:29-30). As You lead and guide us, may we always remember that nothing is too hard for You (Jeremiah 32:17).

Leave a Reply

