Lights in the World

Image

“For with You is the fountain of life; in Your light we see light.” (Psalm 36:9 NKJV)

So often, it is easy for us to lose focus, to have things going on in our lives that keep us from seeing the Lord at work. Some days, just thinking about all that is going on in my little corner of the world can leave me feeling pretty helpless.

If I stay in this mind frame for too long, I risk giving in to fear and doubt. Somehow, I have to manage to continue trusting God and going forward, even when so much of the world around me seems in chaos.

In Matthew 24, Jesus tells of the troubling times coming into the world. It seems that most of the things He talked about are occurring right now. Jesus also tells us that even though we will have trouble, we should not be afraid, because He has overcome the world (John 16:33) and given us His peace (John 14:26-28).

Only when I go to the Word of God for guidance (Proverbs 3:5-6; Psalm 119:105; Isaiah 30:21) and trust Him to protect me (Psalm 91), will I begin to feel my stress and tension being replaced by God’s perfect peace. I have to remind myself to take each day as it comes and focus on what is and not what could be – tomorrow, next week, next year (Matthew 6:25-34).

No matter what trials we’re working our way through or how tough the circumstances may seem, it is essential for us to keep our focus on God. As we allow Him to strengthen us, our lives become reflections of His love, wisdom, mercy, and power. That’s when our transformations will become beacons of light and hope to those around us (Matthew 5:14-16).

Prayer:
Heavenly Father, thank You for loving us. Give us the courage to trust You. As we keep our focus on You, give us peace (Isaiah 26:3).  Show us how to be lights of Your love to those in our circles of influence.

Leave a Reply

