Would You Pause to Extend a Helping Hand?

2_5_4_WomanCane

Luke 6:31, 36 (NKJV) – “And just as you want men to do to you, you also do to them likewise. Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.”

 

It was a hectic Saturday, the day before Mother’s Day. People raced in and out of the stores. Horns blared as impatient drivers circled looking for an open parking spot. Although my husband and I had not completed our errands, we decided to leave the crowded shopping center early.

While we waited for our turn to leave the parking lot, we noticed a woman standing near the stop sign. She wore extremely thick glasses and kept shading her eyes. We wondered what was wrong with her because each time a car stopped at the stop sign, she stepped off the sidewalk. As soon as the car drove away, she stepped back onto the sidewalk and looked across the street.

“What’s she doing?” I asked my husband.  We continued watching her as we inched closer. We were four cars back when we noticed the cane. “She’s blind!” I gasped.

“Oh my,” Norman said.

When we finally stopped at the exit, she stepped off the sidewalk.

“Do you need help?” I called out to her.

“I’m waiting for a taxi. I called the company, and they said it is already here.” She held up her cell phone.

“I just saw him back there.” Norman said.

“What color is the car?” She turned from side to side, shading her eyes with the hand that held her cell phone.

Norman put on the emergency flashers. “Stay right there. I’ll go get him.”

I heard the car behind us blow its horn.  “Hey! What gives you the right to block the exit?” The angry woman yelled at Norman.

“She’s waiting on a taxi. I’m just going to let him know that she’s up here.”

“What does that have to do with you?” The woman continued to yell.

“She’s blind.” Norman answered softly.

The angry driver’s mouth gaped open in surprise. She didn’t have a response. She slowed down as she drove around our car, taking a long look at the blind woman standing on the sidewalk, holding onto the cane.

When the taxi pulled up behind our car, Norman and the driver helped the blind woman into the back seat. “Thank you so much for your kindness, sir,” she said.

We said a quick prayer for her as we drove away. The whole episode left me feeling sad and questioning this generation’s humanity as a whole.  I wondered how many other people drove right past the blind woman without giving her a second thought, too preoccupied with their cares to notice her odd behavior. How many times had I, in my rush to get things done, passed someone in need without realizing they could use my help? How would I feel if I had to trade places with the blind woman? Wouldn’t I pray that someone was kind enough to stop and offer me assistance?

Jesus was never too busy to stop for those in need. If we are to be imitators of His, we have to make it a point to look out for our fellow man. We must strive to treat others like we want to be treated (Luke 6:31), even if we often fall short. Whenever we have the opportunity to do good (Galatians 6:9-10), we must grasp it without hoping for anything in return (Luke 6:35). The small acts of love and kindness,that we extend to others, will eventually add up to a marvelous display of Christ’s love in us (John 13:34-35).

2 thoughts on “Would You Pause to Extend a Helping Hand?

  1. Fiona

    Great post Dorothea – so glad it was you and your husband who took the time to notice, then stopped to help, so we get this powerful reminder. It takes people keeping on striving for Luke 6:31, if the world’s ever going to be a more caring place.
    Blessings, Fiona

    Reply
    1. dorothealove Post author

      Thanks, Fiona. It is at times like this that I’m thankful that my illness causes me to move a lot slower. Otherwise, I’m afraid I would have been like all the others who passed her by. I’m grateful to my dear husband who always takes the time out for others and sets such a great example for me to follow. Take care dear friend! – Dorothea

      Reply

Leave a Reply

