Minute by Minute

Image

 

Minute by Minute

 

“Restore me to the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit to sustain me.”

(Psalm 51:12 NIV)

 

Swollen joints, heaviness in my limbs, pain on every side, blisters in my mouth, weakness in general.

It’s only five o’clock in the morning, and I want to cry.  I want to sink into a state of depression.  I want to murmur, complain, and feel sorry for myself.

Today is going to be HARD! There’s no doubt about it.

There are days when I can only focus on the next five minutes.  If I look beyond that, I’ll become overwhelmed.    I have two choices – trust God or trust myself.  I have to be honest, is there really a choice? Not for me. And not for anyone else who puts their faith in God.

God remains faithful to me no matter what I face.  He’s there upholding me and giving me strength, even when I’m not thinking about it.  Just when it seems like I’m not going to make it, God steps in and guides me.  I might receive a phone call, an email, or an unexpected card in the mail.  It could be a simple hug from my daughter, an infectious giggle from my great niece, or a corny joke from my son. Regardless of how it comes, God always sends me the strength I need to make it through the moment of weakness.

That is the beauty of the request of this passage.  Sometimes, I have to be reminded of the JOY that is a vital part of my salvation.  Somehow, my suffering is a part of God’s plan for my life.  I must remind myself that His goodness and mercy are always present.

When I ask God to help me and to strengthen me, He always does.  When I look to Him on the days I want to quit, His love surrounds me and comforts me.  As I learn to depend on Him at every turn, I am more aware of His presence and His protection.

There is joy in my salvation – not only joy, but love, hope, peace, and strength.  As I reflect on all the blessings in salvation, I find myself becoming encouraged.

Then I can muster up the courage to ask for the stamina to endure on this path that I walk each day.  God knows just what it will take to get me through.  If I trust Him, I can make it, even on the darkest days.

Prayer: Father, help us to see Your sustaining power at work in our lives.  Restore our souls and comfort us each day.  Let the joy of our salvation bring peace in a new way.

 

Leave a Reply

